B.A.S.S. Names Leading Student Athletes To 2019 Bassmaster High School All-State Fishing Team

Sixty-two outstanding high school anglers from across the country have been named to the 2019 Bassmaster High School All-State Fishing Team presented by Academy Sports + Outdoors.

The students were selected for the honor based on their success in bass tournament competition, academic achievement and leadership in conservation and community service.

“The Bassmaster High School All-American program recognizes the best young anglers in the nation,” said Bruce Akin, B.A.S.S. CEO. “These student athletes are at the top of our sport both with their tournament success and academic achievements. We are proud to honor their accomplishments on a national level.”

To be considered for the All-State Fishing Team, a student must have been nominated by a parent, coach, teacher or other school official. Students currently enrolled in grades 10-12 with a current-year grade point average of 2.5 or higher were eligible.

B.A.S.S. received more than 400 nominations from across the nation. From these, judges selected 62 student anglers from 35 states to make the All-State Fishing Team. In addition, 32 students received Honorable Mentions recognizing them for their tournament success as well as community service and academic achievement.

“These qualifiers are helping shape the future of our sport,” said Hank Weldon, senior manager of the B.A.S.S. High School program. “Their enthusiasm for sportfishing and their communities is exceptional, and we can only imagine what the future holds for these anglers.

“We are extremely proud to see our Bassmaster All-American program flourish, and we congratulate these student anglers on their success on and off the water.”

A second panel of judges will review nominations of the 62 All-State team members and select the 12 members of the 2019 Bassmaster High School All-American Fishing Team presented by Academy Sports + Outdoors. As in All-State judging, criteria include success in high school fishing tournaments, involvement in conservation efforts and other community service activities.

The 12 finalists will compete in a one-day Bassmaster All-American High School Bass Tournament held during the 2019 Toyota Bassmaster Texas Fest benefiting Texas Parks and Wildlife Department event, a fan-favorite festival that will take place May 2-6 on Lake Fork out of Emory, Texas.

Elite Series anglers will serve as teammates and “coaches” of the student anglers in the tournament. The high school standouts will be honored on the main Texas Fest stage at the weigh-in.

Below is the list of the 62 All-State anglers and 32 Honorable Mentions, in order by state:

Alabama Wesley Gore, Jemison Tucker Smith, Shoal Creek Grayson Morris, Birmingham — Honorable Mention

Arizona Bryce Drake, Yuma Isaiah Rios, Phoenix Taj White, Glendale — Honorable Mention Nicklaus Romero, Prescott — Honorable Mention

Arkansas Bryce Lane, Rogers Brody Jacks, Benton Bryson Kindy, Benton — Honorable Mention Jay Morgan, Trumann — Honorable Mention

California Miles Kaneko, Berkeley Samuel West, Fort Bragg

Colorado Colton Colwell, Windsor Jack Harpole, Littleton

Connecticut William Hinckley, North Branford

Florida Dylan Westhelle, Sanford Jackson Swisher, Lake City Garrett Thomas, Mulberry — Honorable Mention Chase Givens, Dover — Honorable Mention

Georgia Brooks Anderson, Marietta Parker Guy, Ocilla Tanner Hadden, Evans — Honorable Mention Logan Plueger, Grovetown — Honorable Mention

Idaho Nathanial Kimberling, Coeur d'Alene Eyston Kunz, Meridian

Illinois Wyatt Pazdro, Minooka Garrett Beatty, Sandwich

Indiana Carter Ball, Noblesville Colsyn Head, Poland Scott Sledge, Greenwood — Honorable Mention Jack Schable, La Porte — Honorable Mention

Iowa Samuel Louw, Story City

Kansas Brett Halstead, Riley Brock Bila, Louisburg Kyle Simmons, Leonardville — Honorable Mention Parker Still, Topeka — Honorable Mention

Kentucky William Carnes, Stanford Hannah Wesley, Junction City Jacob Autry, Beaver Dam — Honorable Mention Jake Thornbury, Finchville — Honorable Mention

Louisiana Wes Rollo, Natchitoches Bryant Martin, Crowley

Maine Tyler Williams, Belgrade

Massachusetts Nathan Smith, Uxbridge

Michigan Nicolas Biundo, Wyandotte Hayden Scott, Ann Arbor Brady Stuart, Wyandotte — Honorable Mention

Minnesota Kobie Koenig, Cohasset Patrick McMurry, Lakeville Ethan Vanden Busch, Lakeville — Honorable Mention

Mississippi Dalton Smith, Brandon James Willoughby, Gulfport Garrett McWilliams, Florence — Honorable Mention Tony Edwards, Tremont — Honorable Mention

Missouri Devon Rathbun, Springfield Zak Hobbs, Imperial Caleb Haines, Springfield — Honorable Mention

Nebraska Colton Kelle, Beatrice

New Hampshire Logan Berube, Hampstead

New York Alex Gauld, Tonawanda Garrett Lawton, Pulaski

North Carolina Caz Anderson, Hayesville Brycen Hendriks, Durham — Honorable Mention Kyle Dillon, Durham — Honorable Mention

Ohio Luke Haymaker, Canal Fulton Kobe Thompson, Crooksville

Oklahoma Charles Williams, Mannford Dakota Page, Catoosa Quinton Story, Henryetta — Honorable Mention

Oregon Michael Postlewait, Astoria

Pennsylvania Austin Aikins, Lower Burrell Dylan Fogarty, Mechanicsburg

South Carolina Jacob Butts, Starr Jack Hunt, Townville Timothy McKenzie, Georgetown — Honorable Mention

Tennessee Seth Moser, Maryville Austin Smith, Jacksboro Jackson Holbert, Decaturville — Honorable Mention Joshua Lee, Knoxville — Honorable Mention Hayden Gaddis, Seymour — Honorable Mention

Texas Hunter Muncrief, Pineland Cason Ragsdale, Winnsboro Ben Cully, Rockwall — Honorable Mention Gabriel Talley, Conroe — Honorable Mention Braden Clifton, Livingston — Honorable Mention

Virginia Colin Bennett, Axton Jacob Lovell, Stuart

West Virginia Dylan Fitzgerald, Charleston Trevor Albanese, Berkeley Springs Sam Ambrose, Berkeley Springs — Honorable Mention

Wisconsin Tyler Cory, Amherst Casey Hoffman, New London Jacob Bigelow, Cecil — Honorable Mention