Field Announced For 2021 Redfish Cup Championship

The 10-team field has been set for the revived Yamaha Bassmaster Redfish Cup Championship presented by Skeeter. A combination of all-star teams and redfish champions will do battle for a top prize of $50,000 Nov. 12-14 on Texas’ Port Aransas.

The six all-star teams featuring Bassmaster pro anglers paired with redfish pros are:

• Ten-time Bassmaster Classic qualifier and former Texas Bass Classic champion Matt Herren and Elite Pro Redfish Tour Championship qualifier Chad Manning

• Bassmaster Classic qualifier Derek Hudnall and former IFA Redfish Tour and FLW Redfish Tour winner Ron Hueston

• Elite Series champion Mark Menendez and veteran multispecies pro Ricky Bort

• Seven-time Bassmaster Classic qualifier Chris Zaldain and veteran IFA Redfish Tour angler Ryan Rickard

• Bassmaster Opens angler Trait Zaldain and 30-year veteran pro Matt McCabe

• Elite Series champion Patrick Walters and former FLW Redfish Championship winner Dwayne Eschete

“For the first time, fans will get to witness the top pros from perhaps the two most popular sportfishing realms in the U.S. come together as one,” said Hudnall, an Elite Series pro who grew up chasing redfish in southern Louisiana. “Our industry as a whole has never been more popular than it is today. Now, this unique format will not only increase the interest of the biggest bass and redfish fans, but will also cater to the many multispecies anglers.

“I have never fished with my partner, Ron Hueston, but know of his success in the professional redfish circuits. I cannot wait to put our skills together and chase down the Redfish Championship trophy.”

Joining these all-star teams will be four teams from the Elite Redfish Tournament Series and Power-Pole Pro Redfish Tour. Multiple tour championship angler Travis Land and former IFA Redfish Tour Team of the Year angler and NFL tight end Nicky Savoie along with two-time 2021 tournament champions Glenn Vann and Thomas Barlow will represent the Elite Redfish Tour. Competing from the Power-Pole Pro Redfish Tour are its Top 2 in the 2021 Team of the Year standings Jeremy Heimes, a five-time Team of the Year angler, and decorated veteran Mickey Gibbs and the multievent championship team of Chris Cenci and Chris Kennedy, who has won nine tournaments in his career.

Fans can catch Bassmaster Redfish LIVE coverage all three days of the tournament as cameras capture all of the action beginning at 7 a.m. CT each day on and the FOX Sports digital platforms. FS1 will broadcast live Nov. 13-14 from 7-10 a.m.

“We handpicked this fishery, so we think it should be exciting and all 10 teams should be in contention all the way to the end of the third day,” said tournament director Hank Weldon. “We’re expecting Port Aransas to prove its reputation as the ‘Fishing Capital of Texas.’”

The 2021 Bassmaster Redfish Cup Championship is being hosted by the Port Aransas Tourism Bureau & Chamber of Commerce.